DUI Attorney for DUI Penalties in Pinellas, Hillsborough, & Pasco County, Florida

Whether you are facing a first DUI charge or multiple DUI charges, the penalties for driving under the influence in Florida are severe. Since some penalties for a Tampa Bay DUI may be quickly imposed against you after your arrest, it is vital for you to consult with a DUI Lawyer as soon as possible. Charles Holloway, P.A., a former prosecutor and current DUI Attorney with an office in Clearwater, offers a free initial consultation to all of his clients. The following is a partial list of DUI penalties that you might discuss with Charles Holloway during your consultation:

First Offense

a. Fine: $500.00-$1,000.00 (.15% or higher: $1,000.00-$2,000.00)
b. License suspension: 6 months-1 year
c. Probation: 6 months-1 year
d. Incarceration: 0-6 months (.15% or higher: 0-9 months)
e. Impoundment: at least 10 days
f. Ignition device: (.15% or higher: at least 6 months)
g. Fifty hours of Community Service
h. DUI School & evaluation for counseling/treatment

Second Offense within 5 years

a. Fine: $1,000.00-$2,000.00 (.15% or higher: $2,000.00-$4,000.00)
b. License suspension: 5 years
c. Probation: 1 year
d. Incarceration: 10 days – 9 months (.15% or higher: 10 days-1 year)
e. Impoundment: at least 30 days impoundment
f. Ignition device: at least 1 year (.15% or higher: at least 2 years)
g. Multiple Offender DUI School & evaluation for counseling/treatment

Second Offense beyond 5 years

a. Fine: $500.00 – $1,000.00 (.15% or higher: $2,000.00-$4,000.00)
b. License Suspension: 6 months-1 year
c. Probation: 1 year
d. Incarceration: 0-9 months (.15% or higher: 0-12 months)
e. Ignition device: at least 1 year (.15% or higher: at least 2 years)
f. Multiple Offender DUI School & evaluation for counseling/treatment

Third Conviction within 10 years (Felony)

a. Fine: $.00-$5,000.00 (.15% or higher: at least $4,000.00)
b. License Suspension: 1 year
c. Probation: 0 to 5 years
d. Incarceration: 30 days-5 years
e. Impoundment: 90 days impoundment
f. Ignition device: at least 2 years

Third Conviction beyond 10 years (Misdemeanor)

a. Fine: $2,000.00 – $5,000.00 (.15% or higher: at least $4,000.00)
b. License Suspension: 6 months-1 year
c. Probation: 1 year
d. Incarceration: 0-1 year
e. Ignition device: at least 2 years

Fourth Conviction (Misdemeanor)

a. Fine: $1,000.00-$2,500.00 (.20% or higher: $2,000.00-$5,000.00)
b. License Suspension: Permanent
c. Probation: 1 year
d. Incarceration: 0-1 year

Fourth Conviction (Felony)

a. Fine: $2,000.00 (.15% or higher: at least $4,000.00)
b. License Suspension: Permanent
c. Probation: 0-5 years
d. Incarceration: 0-5 years

Second Refusal (Misdemeanor)

a. Fine: $.00-$1,000.00
b. License Suspension: 18 months
c. Probation: Up to 1 year
d. Incarceration: Up to 1 year

As you can see from this limited list of Florida DUI penalties, a DUI charge in Pinellas, Hillsborough, or Pasco County can have serious consequences on your life. More DUI penalties may be found by reading Florida Statute Section 316.193. Even though you are able to review possible DUI penalties for yourself, it is highly recommended that you speak with a Florida DUI Lawyer about your case. Charles Holloway, P.A., is an experienced DUI Attorney offering a free initial consultation at his office in Clearwater. Please call (727) 446-8303 to speak with Charles Holloway and schedule your free initial consultation.

Phone: (727) 446-8303
E-Mail: Info@PinellasDefense.com